The names Barcelona and Juventus are enough to strike fear into any team, and a look at their formidable home records suggests that caution is not unfounded.

Neither club have lost on their own turf in the UEFA Champions League since spring 2013, unbeaten runs that now stand at 24 matches in Barcelona’s case and 22 for Juventus. Tottenham travel to Turin for the first leg of their round of 16 tie with Juve, while the pressure will be on Chelsea to make their mark at Stamford Bridge ahead of a Camp Nou return match.

Kahn recalls Bayern’s redemption of 2001

The last side to beat Barcelona and Juventus on their own patch in the competition? Bayern on both counts, in consecutive rounds in 2012/13. In fact it is the German giants who hold the all-time record of 29 home games unbeaten, a sequence that spanned 1998 to 2002 at their old Olympiastadion home and took them to the 1999 final and 2001 title. 

Barcelona’s run

It is now over four and a half years since Bayern triumphed 3-0 at the Camp Nou in the second leg of their 7-0 semi-final blow-out – on 1 May 2013, to be precise. Since then the Blaugrana have won 22 and drawn two, scoring 74 (3.1 per game) and conceding just 12 (0.5) in the process.

Juventus’s run

The atmospheric Juventus Stadium

The atmospheric Juventus Stadium©Getty Images

Juve’s 22-match streak includes 14 wins and eight draws, with 35 goals scored (1.6 per game) and 14 conceded (0.6). The 2-0 quarter-final second leg defeat by Bayern in April 2013 is the only time in this competition the Turin team have lost at their new stadium.

Bayern also prevailed 4-1 in Juve’s last UEFA Champions League fixture at the Stadio delle Alpi on 8 December 2009. The last time anyone other than the Bavarians won at Juventus in this competition was Deportivo La Coruña on 9 March 2004!

Longest home unbeaten runs in UEFA Champions League

29 Bayern (04/03/1998 – 02/04/2002)
24 Barcelona (18/09/2013 –)
24 Arsenal (14/09/2004 – 15/04/2009)
23 Manchester United (27/09/2005 – 03/11/2009)
22 Juventus (02/10/2013 –)
21 Chelsea (12/09/2006 – 08/12/2009)
21 Barcelona (24/11/2009 – 10/04/2013)
21 Real Madrid (27/09/2011 – 09/12/2014)

Source link